Some call me ‘Mr. Positive’

I have been called that at work, and not in a sarcastic way.

I don’t mind being called that, but there is something else that I believe goes hand in hand with it.  Enthusiasm.  I bet you’ve heard somewhere it makes a difference.  It does.

Drumming up enthusiasm can be draining, but the best form of it happens when you are actually excited about something, it then happens without any effort at all.

The last time this happened for me in a big way was when I met Sara.  I was certainly excited that the person I had hoped to find did exist after all.  Every Saturday I am enthusiastic about starting the show, because I never know what’s going to happen on it, and then I can hang out with friends from different parts of the world while waiting for 2.5 to start.  Sunday is the same thing with two shows to watch, usually I watch Tokyo Tonight while hanging out with Shaun from Australia.  I can even get excited about driving.  Enjoy the journey they say.  I also enjoy my little routine commutes to and from work, since there are other people involved there is potential for positive interaction.

Sara will have an interview pretty soon, I’m excited about that because it is an important part of our life together.  A scientist sitting at home all day doesn’t need taking care of, she can do it herself.  So working is a good thing.

How can I be so optimistic all the time?  I can because I understand that things can also go horribly wrong, and I try to mentally prepare for that.  I generally don’t voice these concerns unless I am in uncharted territory.  Seeking out some knowledge from a person experienced with that territory goes a long way towards balancing out the emotions.

I have been in the territory of blahness today, but writing this seems to be lifting me out of it, so I can go to bed and sleep soundly.  Which is what I am going to do now.

Goodnight.

Robert

I am serious about my weekly therapy. www.threeolddudes.com
I am serious about my weekly therapy. http://www.threeolddudes.com
Leave a Reply

