Preparing for the show.

The invites are all out I believe, and the short ad for this Saturday’s show is up.  Just a few minor details to take care of, on of which is making sure we don’t run into 2.5 Oyajis.

It was brought to my attention that I don’t talk much here about how much I have changed as a person over the years, in a positive way that is.  I think the main reason is that every person’s journey is different.  I have read many books related to the skills I wanted to develop, or the type of person I wanted to be.  I read most of these books before I even had a clear picture of who I wanted to be.  I also continually work at being optimistic, and this can be challenging at times.  If there is someone around me that is being negative just to be negative, instead of pointing out a fact that should be considered, I usually vacate the area, and if I am part of the conversation I take any negative statement and put the best positive spin I can on it, and I have been doing it for so long that it is second nature.

I also learned at a young age that who you associate with is very important.  As a 16-year-old just starting out lifting weights I was told to work out with goals in mind.  I was also told that if I wanted to be one of those ‘big’ guys, you need to do what they do, you need to get to know some of them.  There is something important to remember; though, not only can you learn from someone what to do, you can also learn from someone what not to do.

As you’re moving forward through life (and I do hope it’s forward) just remember that you only need to change one small thing at a time.  Just keep doing it, changing that one small thing.  One step at a time every day can change everything.  Having good sources of advice and knowing where you’re headed is important.

I sit looking at what I’ve typed so far and what I just said is what I myself have to continually remind myself.  One step at a time.  I can easily become flustered if I don’t break things down into parts before starting whatever I’m doing.  Just like writing this blog today, there is just so much to cover about the subject of self-improvement, and there are countless numbers of people out there that know more than I do about it.

I have, in the past, learned enough about any given skill or subject to do what I needed to do, then I move on.  Lately, I have been reading articles on subjects I don’t need to, in order to move outside of my comfort zone and learn something new.  This tends to keep you humble, and although I certainly enjoy feeling confident, you can’t be up all the time.  If you regularly step outside your comfort zone if becomes easier to learn from someone that knows more than you do.  You need to lower your defenses in order to learn this way, and if you are surrounding yourself with people that are where you want to be, you  will be doing this often.

Okay…this is starting to take on a life of its own, and it is getting late.  Hopefully, I haven’t put any of you to sleep.  I’m calling it for tonight.

See you later!

Robert

3OD Logo.
I am serious about my weekly therapy. http://www.threeolddudes.com

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Preparing for the show.

  1. Very well said, Robert!

    It’s been tough for me to be positive after I came back to America with so much negativity here. And not being able to find a job for half a year so far has been disheartening as well. I know that I can make it, but it’s an uphill struggle.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

